Wezzie's Diary of Decisions
God help me make the right decision

New Year's 2006

2005-12-31
9:53 a.m.

New Year's Eve, New Year's Eve, New Year's Eve is heeeeere. That should be sung to the tune of Jingle Bells. Is this considered New Year's 2005 or 2006?

In the last two days I have stained wood, cleaned my bathroom, painted our bedroom, washed my car, shopped for a new outfit and found NOTHING. NOTHING! How do I go to Kohls and Old Navy and find NOTHING? It should go down in the record books.

My bonus check came through and I had planned to put 85% of it in my savings account. Instead, I put 85% of it towards credit card bills (and got almost half of them paid off *sigh*) and spent the other 15% on a new dishwasher and a new dining room set. Nothing fancy, but it will match everything better than the current set.

I've been watching the Today show all morning (since I awoke early, tended to the dog, cooked my fiance breakfast before he went to work, painted the last wall in the bedroom and have done three loads of laundry. And it's barely 10 am) and they said that the people who go to Times Square tonight to watch the ball drop are allowed in starting around 3 pm and usually by 12:20 am it is empty. These people, once in, are not allowed to leave, not even to use the restroom. Do they not put port-a-loos in Times Square? More than once they mentioned this "no bathrooms" thing, so I can only assume not. What are people going to do for 9 hours with a lot of alcohol and no bathrooms? Did stores in NY sell out of Depends today? That's just gross. Who wants to spend their new year like that?

We will be spending it at our friends' annual party. But I had a little too much alcohol last night and have been feeling seedy all morning. I definitely need to nap as soon as I'm done with the second and final coat of paint in the bedroom.