Wezzie's Diary of Decisions
God help me make the right decision

The Wedding

2006-02-27
2:20 p.m.

So, I know that I got really slack here but for once in my diarying career, I have a pretty good excuse. See, I've had house guests of one nationality or another since January 15th. Only one has been constant since then, but others have come and gone and it really is true what they say: fish and house guests start to smell after 3 days.

All the people who made the long trip from across the globe to be at my wedding have stayed to spend time with us. Which is nice, but it's also incredibly stressful. I am so exhausted I can't even tell you.

As for the wedding itself, the whole 4 days was really quite the disaster. If I had a crystal ball I'd have cancelled it and eloped 8 months ago. The weather was gorgeous Thursday and Friday and when I woke up Saturday and looked outside, I couldn't see the beach for the fog. And I had a beach front room!

The fog lifted and the sun started to come out, but come 4 p.m. it ran away and out came the rain, accompanied by a freezing cold breeze.

What I haven't mentioned yet is that Thursday there was some high drama on the family front. I'd rather not get into it because it was bad enough the first time around and I don't care to remember it. It did put me in a bad mood for the rest of the evening and eventually led to a migraine.

Friday I was ok until about half way through the rehearsal dinner when my body started to ache. Then I started to get the chills and a slight fever. Instead of partying with the other people I'd told to meet me at the restaurant, I went home and crawled into bed where I proceded to decline on the health front. My fiance ended up staying with me so he could take care of me and neither of us got a half decent night's rest. I was hot, cold, hot, cold, hot, cold, sweaty, achy and just plain miserable.

Saturday morning I wanted to get married in the hotel lobby in my pjamas. I don't know how I got to the hair salon and sat through having my hair done (which is another long story, but suffice it to say we called an emergency bridesmaids meeting in my room to fix my hair).

The entire day/night is a blur to me. I don't know if that's because of the cold flu medicine I was popping all Friday night and Saturday, or if I was just the typical bride who got caught up in it all. A few times I thought, "Take a step back and take it all in" but even having done that, it is a blur.

We have friends who have been married 16 years and their wedding day was even worse than ours. All I'll say is diarreah in a tux is not good. Anyway, their theory is the worse the wedding, the better the marriage. So I figure my husband and I are good for the long haul.