Wezzie's Diary of Decisions
God help me make the right decision

Burden

2005-12-13
2:54 p.m.

Sometimes I wonder why I'm getting married and what I get exactly out of this relationship. I make more money than him and without my job we'd be sunk. After the last few months we've been through I often wonder if it woudn't just be easier to say, "Y'know what? I don't want to get married. I get nothing out of this."

But that's not entirely true. I do get financial help, I get love, devotion, security (in the physical sense), a companion...I know he will make a great father and I know that it kills him to know he can't financially support us. And I don't believe it will always be that way.

If I were to call this off in hopes of finding someone who could support me financially, I could actually end up in a bad situation. I know that the relationship should be the most important basis, not money. It's just really difficult having to carry 75% of the load for 2 people. I feel for men (or women for that matter) who carry the financial burden of a family.