Wezzie's Diary of Decisions
God help me make the right decision

Vows

2005-12-07
3:04 p.m.

Last night we were watching a movie and there is a couple in it who renews their vows. Upon hearing them speak the words, "I promise to love and honor you in good times and in bad, in sickness and in health, for richer or poorer, until death do us part", my fiance looked at me and said, "I can't wait to say those words to you."

In a weird, and hopefully not delusional way, everything we have been through somehow makes those words stronger. It's like there's an undertone of, "I know I screwed up and I am so ashamed and so sorry, that I can't possibly express how much I mean these words."

He said earlier in the night that he knows how much he hurt me and he is willing to spend the rest of his life making it up to me. I said, "That sounds like a miserable way to live your life, always trying to make up for something." He shook his head and said, "No, not to me, as long as you're by my side."

Course, our vows aren't going to say "Until death do us part." That is too morbid and pitiful. Instead, they'll end with, "All the days of my life."

I give you this ring, as a symbol of my love and devotion.

Today I marry you, my best friend

The one I laugh with, dream with, and love

I promise to cheris you, honor you, and respect you,

all the days of my life

With this ring I marry you, and join my life to your's