Wezzie's Diary of Decisions
God help me make the right decision

Happily Ever After

2005-11-28
10:01 a.m.

There are people who say that getting issues out of the way at the start of a relationship is a good thing. That if you can overcome those issues, your relationship will be better and stronger because of it. Others will say that if you have problems that serious early on, you might as well bail out while you have the chance because it will only get worse.

Here's what I wonder: if you bail out of a relationship early on because of issues, regardless of their severity, will you ever find "the forever" relationship?

More importantly, is there a "forever" relationship?

I have never really belived that there is that one person out there for everyone. Anyone could be your person. If something happens to the first person you chose, God doesn't say, "Oh well, you had your shot and it's gone." I also don't think he then picks another ONE for you and puts him (or her) on the Earth somewhere for you to find.

I know that there is life after divorce - my parents are living proof. Hell a lot of people are living proof. So it's not so much that I worry about when I contemplate the "what if" scenario, it's more the, "What if we have kids, what will happen to them?" I think my mind works like that because of my parents' divorce. My fiance, bless his heart, says that I don't need to worry about it because we're going to live "happily ever after." I wish I could believe in "happily ever after."